ISAAK: The Longer The Beard The Harder The Sound: CD

The Longer The Beard The Harder The Sound cover art

Italian stoner rock band ISAAK have re-released this album with four bonus tracks “Fearless” from PINK FLOYD, “Wrathchild” by IRON MAIDEN and two new originals. This was originally released when they were known under their original name GHANDI’S GUNN and this album has been remixed and remastered by Eric Hoegemeyer at Brooklyn, NY’s Tree Laboratory and Chris Goosman at Ann Arbor, MI’s Baseline Audio Labs.

Vocalist Giacomo H Boeddu, guitarist Francesco Raimondi, bassist Massimo Perasso and drummer Andrea Tabbì De Bernardi really put everything that they have into the recording of these intense tracks. The band plays with heart, emotion and a sense of urgency that gets under your skin and gets you moving. The gravelly vocals, the locked in grooves, the wicked guitar playing, plus the heaviness of the tracks really give this band a top shelf placing in this genre. the record starts with “Haywire” and it’s a high energy track with classic stoner rock riffs, “Under Siege” starts with fuzzed phased guitar before kicking into high gear with high energy stoner rock, “Breaking Balance” starts spacey, but slowly builds up into a huge rocker with a fantastic groove and excellent playing, and “Flood” starts slowly and after a few minutes, the heavy riff kicks in and pushes the track into a heavier zone. “Red (The Colour of God)” is a fast paced track with huge drums and intense guitar playing added to the head nodding groove, and “Rest Of The Sun” is another heads down, rocking song with a cool groove, as well as”Adrift”. “Hypotesis” is a psychedelic influenced track with nice drums and a sitar.After three minutes, the sitar fades out and the song becomes a heavy behemoth. “Fearless” by PINK FLOYD has none of the gentle psychedelic sound that the original has, it is turned into a super heavy track with pummeling drums and a wall of guitar, “Wrathchild” by IRON MAIDEN is a heavy riffing version that takes the song and adds some more low-end and gives it a punch to your throat. “The Right Time” and “Isolation 2.0” are new songs and a fast rockers that have more metal riffs but still keep things grooving.

SUN GODS IN EXILE: Thanks For The Silver: CD

Thanks For The Silver cover art

Formed in early 2008 in Portland, Maine this group of guys play southern influenced hard rock that grabs you and kicks ass right from the start. With hints of AC/DC, some boogie, some blues, LYNYRD SKYNYRD, and other shit-kicking bands, they have formulated a mixture of their influences to create a sound that is infectious and heartfelt.

The guitars of Tony D’Agostino and Adam Hitchcock burn through riffs and terrific solos, bassist John Lennon and drummer John Kennedy lock in the grooves as much as they stomp, and Chris Neal brings keys, slide and harp to the mix. Hitchcock’s rough-and-ready vocals allows him to sing as much as growl through these tightly played songs. The southern fried boogie of “Nobody Knows”,  the blues of “Climb Down”, the balladry of the title track, all exude heart on the sleeve approach to their craft. “Hammer Down”, “Writing’s On the Wall”, and “I Buried My Bitch’s Car” have energy and enough guitar playing to satisfy the most picky of fans of southern rock.

This band has taken the southern rock sound and brought it up north and still managed to keep that swampy, blues boogie feel alive. This is a terrific album, the kind that should be played on radio, but won’t because of how sad radio is now, not because of the quality of this album because this is top quality tunage!