SECURITY PROJECT: Live 2

Image result

Continuing on where they left off with their previous album Live 1, but with a bit more crowd noise and a deeper catalog of Gabriel’s songs, the band plays with all of the heart and talent of that first set.This group features original Peter Gabriel drummer Jerry Marotta, former King Crimson guitarist Trey Gunn, ex-Shriekback guitarist Michael Cozzi, keyboardist David Jameson, and vocalist Brian Cummins.

Being a fan of Peter Gabriel, but not a fanatic that knows his catalog inside out is a good thing because this album gives me a chance to sample songs that I would probably not have listened to in the first place. Yes, I’m more of a popular songs kind of guy when it comes to him, but this collection has drawn me in and turned me onto his deeper tracks. As I listen to this album, it hits me the same way that the first one did, i have goosebumps, and become emotional, with my eyes watering up while I close my eyes and let the sounds flow over me. The pure talent that this musicians have is staggering and I am in awe of just how much I find myself playing this over and over, not just for me, but for anyone and everyone who I can get to listen to it. While the audience is mixed a bit louder in the beginning and end of the songs, it’s not obtrusive at all, it reminds you that this is a live band, not some studio band tweaking everything before you get to hear it, this is a raw and exciting group that blows me away. While I thought the entire album was excellent, the final three songs, “The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway,” “Fly On A Windshield,” and “On The Air” were the highlights for me. Cummins used the crowd to sing along and the interaction made this a real treat.

You would think that the second of this project would not far as well as the first, but that would be a terrible conclusion, this is every bit as good as the first album and actually has a touch more warmth to it. As I said before, I’m a fan of Gabriel’s hits, but this band is turning me into a fan of all of his work. This is a special group of people who are doing something that means a lot to them, and it’s exciting for their fans as well.

https://www.facebook.com/The-Security-Project-217444415042065/home

http://music.securityprojectband.com/album/live-2

http://securityprojectband.com/go/

http://www.7dmedia.com/

Leave a Reply

