HAIRCUT ONE HUNDRED: Pelican West

Pelican West is the 1982 debut album by British new wave band Haircut One Hundred. It peaked at No. 2 in the UK album charts, No. 31 in the Billboard 200 and was certified Platinum by the BPI. The album featured three hit singles “Love Plus One,” “Favourite Shirts (Boy Meets Girl),” and “Fantastic Day.” This is the remastered, and now expanded to two discs edition. This set also includes the Top 10 hit single “Nobody’s Fool” featuring the 7″ and 12″ versions. Other bonus material includes the previously unavailable in the UK mixes of “Calling Captain Autumn (Special Extended Version),” and “Love’s Got Me In Triangles (Special Extended Version).” The 7″ and 12″ versions of the b/sides “Boat Party,” “Marine Boy,” “Ski Club Of Great Britain” and “October Is Orange (Day 1 And Day 2).” Many of these have never been available on CD. The CD booklet features artwork from both the original vinyl album and promotional magazine plus extensive sleeve notes and a UK discography.

I remember hearing “Love Plus One” on the radio one night while my father was at work doing inventory and I immediately fell in love with the song. Bouncy, catchy and irresistible, I had to have that song! I got out one of the few blank cassettes that I had and got set to record it the next time that it was going to be played, back then, they used to announce the upcoming songs and tell you what they played already. I got everything ready and hit record and played that song over and over again. I went to one of the many local stores, at that time there were a ton of record stores around and grabbed a copy of the album and bought a blank tape and went home to listen and tape it. The songs on that album were every bit as good as the first song that I heard and had me smiling and dancing around my living room, of course trying to be careful to not have the needle skip…lol. After all of these years, I now possess the amazing sounding remaster, as well as a ton of great bonus tracks that I had to find on singles back then, no mean feat. I still have the cassette, and the singles from back then, and this double CD collection holds up just as well as it did when I first heard them, and I’ve played it a ton of times already. The songs are crisp sounding, full of energy and have the feel of a party that you never want to leave.

The album brings back great memories of my youth and even if you only know “the hits,” you should grab this album and let the funky grooves enter your body and get you moving and dancing to the songs.

https://www.facebook.com/Haircut-One-Hundred-545660278926365/

http://www.haircutonehundred.net/

https://www.facebook.com/CherryRedRecords/

http://www.cherryred.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

